top of page

No More Violence! Better Needs to Arrive!

Though the news is to be an informative media outlet, it has lost its purpose. On Tuesday, June 21, 2016, I listened to the news via radio for the Triad area of North Carolina. My heart instantly weep for the news. I was not prepared to digest.

Police tape blocks off a portion of East 23rd Street, near the home where Kedrick Leonard White as found shot to death on June 7.

Reporters and statistics show that Winston-Salem, North Carolina has had 14 homicide shootings thus far - it's the sixth month of 2016! Fourteen? According to Winston-Salem Journal, we are approaching the same number of homicides that took place in 2015 altogether. I couldn't believe what I heard, yet it was relayed by the reporter on 97.1 FM as if "Oh, I forgot the eggs at the register at Wal-Mart."

In my eyes, it doesn't matter about the skin tone. It doesn't matter what crime was committed. The problem is the the weak is needing company. Consequently, men and women are sold on the dream you better off being someone else rather than yourself. As a sibling that lost a brother to gun violence and street corruption, I felt as if my brother fought harder for his "street cred" rather than fighting for custody for this three children. We are checking harder for an easy come up than checking our children's homework.

Really? Are we that blind and use to homicides that WE don't know how to see this isn't suppose to happen? In my experience of having God as my guide, I never known for Him to kill his sheep - He loves them. This isn't His work - .... (insert truth here).

Want to know the part that hurts me the most? According to Winston-Salem Journal, NO one is coming forth to speak or tip Winston-Salem law enforcement! Let me get this correct - someone guns down YOUR child, your seed, your offspring - and you don't want to speak to the authorities?

I don't understand why [and how] people are [more] afraid of the Devil than what God can change around [and make your enemies your foot stool]. I think we need to take a step back and prioritize what is more important - righteous life or right lanes.

Too bad, the victims have gone to return home and they can't see how friends and family describes loyalty and justice. Does those two words mean anything to people?

Alternatively, religious leaders such as president of Ministers Conference of Winston-Salem and Vicinity, Bishop Todd Fulton, has volunteered to be the voice of the silent. Within their quoted statements, I sense they are feeling the same way as I do - we have to do better.

When will it arrive?

For the full article, view it here.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page